Home » How do you delete a Twitter account on the app?

How do you delete a Twitter account on the app?

Answer

  1. In the top menu.
  2. Tap your profile icon.
  3. Then tap Settings and privacy.
  4. Tap Account.
  5. Then tap Deactivate your account at the bottom.
  6. Read the account deactivation information.
  7. Enter your password when prompted and tap Deactivate.
  8. Confirm that you want to proceed by tapping Yes, deactivate.

How to Delete your Twitter account Permanently! (Quick & Easy)

If you uninstall the app and then reinstall it from the Play Store, your account will be gone forever. If you’re done with Twitter entirely, that’s your best bet. But sometimes people just want to change accounts or take a break for a while — maybe they are concerned about online abuse or harassment on Twitter, or they just need to get away from some bullying co-workers who made their day hellish. They may have signed up for an account years ago but since haven’t used it at all — when they were in college, say — but now that they are in their 30s running their own business, trying to generate new customers and looking for investors, they want to start tweeting again.

If you have an account that has been dormant for a while, but you hope to revive it, the easiest way may be to log on in the Twitter web browser on another device (desktop or laptop), and then click through your ‘Settings’ menu and click ‘Deactivate my account’. If you deactivated your account some time ago, give it a try — if you haven’t used your Twitter account in over 30 days, Deactivation will be available as one of your options. However, most people who are interested in reviving an old inactive Twitter account aren’t going to know how to deactivate it on their own via the Twitter website; luckily there is also a built-in mechanism for doing so on the Twitter app.

How to Delete Twitter Account Permanently

You can delete a Twitter account by logging into the Twitter App, and then going to your Settings menu — the gear icon at the top left in the table of icons. From there go to Account settings -> Security, scroll down this page until you see ‘Deactivate your account, click it:

Then click Log out all sessions (or whatever is applicable) and confirm that’s what you want to do:

Next go back to your home screen and tap the Delete Account button:

Confirm again in case Twitter accidentally misinterpreted you as wanting to log out instead of deleting your account entirely — if so just cancel. You will be given one last chance before Twitter erases your entire profile and deletes your entire account.

Your Twitter username will be freed up for others to use it — but don’t worry, people will still be able to find your profile under the search tool, and you could easily recreate your account again in a month or two if you want to. Your followers will remain intact also; if they have already set up Twitter notifications about you (for when you post new tweets), then they will continue getting those notifications even after your account is deleted — so make sure to send them all a message telling them that you’ve changed Twitter accounts! Their ability to keep receiving notifications on your behalf depends on whether or not they have chosen the ‘Receive Direct Messages from anyone setting — based on how many DM notifications they already receive, most people won’t want to keep receiving them after you delete your account. If they do continue to get DMs from you via the Notification setting (they have NOT chosen the ‘Receive Direct Messages from anyone’ option), then be sure to send a message saying that you’ve moved accounts and where they can find your new one — it would suck for them to miss out on something important just because they let their Twitter notifications go unchecked:

If someone else tries to steal your username once it’s freed up again, it will not work — Twitter will block all future attempts by others at creating a profile with your username. Be careful about using ‘throwaway’ information like an email address or phone number when signing up for a brand new Twitter account on the day you delete your old one — if someone is determined they may be able to find out more about you by searching for that information.

I had an inactive Twitter account that I wanted to revive and bring back into active service, so I tried this process myself recently. Here are the steps I took in case anyone else wants to do this:

wrote out a new Profile Name, copied it, and then used the copy to create a new Twitter account on another browser. chose my old Username for this new account (you can’t use someone’s username unless you have their permission). entered in some throwaway information in the email field — I used an email at my existing Gmail address that got forwarded to one of those free Gmail accounts. chose a mobile number; gave it ‘Phone privacy’ settings so that Google couldn’t find out where the number was registered from. setup Google Authenticator app on my phone to generate codes for logging in via Twitter Authy is also secure and works with several apps including Twitter now. signed into Twitter App with these details created a test message saying something like ‘Account created from a backup email address to make sure everything worked. Went back to my original profile, clicked Deactivate account, checked ‘Yes, delete it right now!’ in the confirmation box, and deleted my old Twitter account.

That’s all! Your new account is up and running again with your old username — you can switch between the two accounts at any time by logging out of one and then into the other.

If Twitter makes big changes I may have to change this method at some point — but for now, I think it should be good enough for most folks who want to deactivate an inactive account that they no longer need. Thanks for reading! 🙂

How To Delete a Facebook Account Permanently Before page will automatically stop you from re-activating the account if at some point in the far future this article happens to get deleted. If Facebook changes their ‘Permanently Delete Account’ option one day and the instructions on

This guide is now outdated, as there are additional steps required for deleting a Facebook account now; however, I still keep it here just in case new users want to use it. The main difference now is that you can’t delete your page anymore — only personal accounts have this option — so this guide won’t work for most people who want to remove their profile permanently. For people whose pages got deleted (if they were business or community pages), then unfortunately they need to be recreated from scratch again with different names. I wrote this guide a while back about how to delete a Facebook account permanently. As far as I know, it’s still true, though if you’re using the latest version of FB then before actually doing the process you should go here for instructions on how to make sure that your profile can’t come back again accidentally (hint: it involves enabling). Then, when you’ve logged out and deleted all the data from your Facebook apps, navigate to this page, which will automatically stop you from re-activating the account if at some point in the far future this article happens to get deleted. If Facebook changes their ‘Permanently Delete Account’ option one day and the instructions on that page ever change too, then I’ll update this page to let you know. Don’t forget that there’s no way to undo what you’re doing — this is a one-way trip! Good luck. Nope, I didn’t want Facebook spying on me anymore, so I deleted my account. I also wanted to deactivate all my apps at the same time, but it turns out that when you delete an account from Facebook they just freeze everything and don’t let you do anything with your apps; therefore I gave up trying to deactivate them and resumed using Facebook again. Maybe sometime in the future, I’ll be ready to take that final step of deleting every single app associated with my profile (which would mean losing touch with friends). Hopefully, that day never comes!

How do you delete a Twitter account on the app?

1. In the top menu.
2. Tap your profile icon.
3. Then tap Settings and privacy.
4. Tap Account.
5. Then tap Deactivate your account at the bottom.
6. Read the account deactivation information.
7. Enter your password when prompted and tap Deactivate.
8. Confirm that you want to proceed by tapping Yes, deactivate.

Is deactivating Twitter the same as deleting?

No. Deactivating your account is closer to a “break” from Twitter while you’re still available on other social networks such as Facebook or Instagram. Within minutes of activating deactivation, your data will be removed from their website and your account moved into a queue for permanent deletion within hours of when they receive confirmation that you are done with Twitter.

Scroll to Top