- Go to myaccount.google.com.
- Click Delete and personalization.
- Scroll to “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data.”
- Click Delete a service or your account.
- Click Delete your account.
How to Delete Gmail Account Permanently
You can delete your account at https://myaccount.google.com/remove. If you want to leave Gmail and any other services that use Google sign-in (for example, Android apps on Google Play or Chrome Web Store), but keep your Google Account for products like YouTube, see Delete your account or data from another Google product.
Note: When you delete your account: All the information you added to any of your devices will be removed. You’ll be signed out of all devices and apps where you used this account, including Gmail and YouTube. Your Google+ profile and connections will be deleted. Note that it may take a few weeks before this happens, as we have to wait for other servers to catch up with yours.
All your YouTube videos will be removed from YouTube. When you reinstate your account, any comments or likes associated with that material will no longer appear immediately. Learn more about what happens when an account is deleted.
How to delete Gmail Account Permanently
What shouldn’t I do after deleting my Gmail account?
After you delete your Google Account, we strongly recommend that you don’t use a burner (temporary) email address to set up another Google Account. If you sign up for a new Google Account, anyone who knows your old email address can still access the information in that account. In some cases, if you’ve used Gmail at work or other websites and apps where you entered personal info like credit card numbers, that info stays visible in your former accounts until you delete it.
I’m having trouble deleting my account or I’ve accidentally deleted it. What do I do If you’re having trouble deleting your account, see Help me delete my Google Account? If you accidentally deleted your account and want to restore it, see Restore a deleted Google Account .
In order to protect yourself online and maintain good privacy practices, we recommend that you don’t reuse old passwords. Deleting your account ensures that others can’t sign in as you (unless they know your username), and generates a warning for other users if someone tries to sign in as you on a new device or service. This helps protect your account and other users.
Closing your account just disables it, so someone might be able to keep using it (if they know your username). If you want to make sure no one can use your account without permission, delete it instead. See What happens when an account is deleted for more info.
Some products like YouTube depend on users being signed in with their real names, or work best with a profile picture, which means that deleting the Google Account will remove all of this information as well. Other products like Chrome Sync require additional steps before an account can be deleted because we care about making sure that only you are signing into these services if choose to do so.
What happens when I delete my Gmail account?
When you delete your Google Account, we’ll stop showing your ads and content associated with that account across Google’s services. You’ll also be signed out of all devices and apps where you’re logged in with that account. All data like purchases, browsing activity, email messages sent or received using the account will be deleted from Google’s servers after a period of time (usually six to eight weeks). Learn more about what happens when an account is deleted.
Sign in to your Gmail account on the Google site.
Click the grid icon in the upper right-hand corner and select “Account.”
Under the “Account preferences” section click “Delete your account or services.”
Select “Delete products” and enter your password.
In order to back up your Gmail account before you delete it, follow these instructions on your Android: open the Settings app; tap Data & personalization; under “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data,” tap Delete a service or your account. Next to “Gmail”, tap Delete.
What happens when you delete your Gmail service. Your emails and mail settings will be deleted, and disabling your Gmail account means that no emails sent to or from our account can be retrieved at a later date – even with Google’s Archives Request Service. This does not mean that other accounts linked to your email address will be deleted—only the email service provided by Gmail is removed so you will have an empty inbox if you want to start over again in another browser window.
The first time you remove an account, tap the “Accounts” menu and find the account to be removed. Tap on it and then “Remove account.” If this is your only Google Account, you’ll have to enter your phone’s pattern or PIN for security before continuing.
You can retain other products in your Google account by keeping your Gmail address but no longer using it.