Home » How do you delete your old YouTube channel?

How do you delete your old YouTube channel?

Answer

  1. Sign in to YouTube Studio.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Select Channel Advanced Settings.
  4. Select Remove YouTube Content.
  5. Select “I want to permanently delete my content“.
  6. Select the boxes to confirm.
  7. Select Delete my content.

How To Delete YouTube Channel Permanently

We are writing this article because we frequently get asked this question. People come to us and ask: “how can I delete my YouTube channel?”. Some people say they have no videos on their channel but only realized later that including a username and password in the video description is sufficient for Google to claim ownership of their videos. They do not want Google publishing any more content under their name. The whole issue of what happens with your old YouTube account when you quit social media has been discussed in one of our previous articles. We recommend reading it if you haven’t done so yet.

How to Delete Youtube Channel Permanently on Phone

So how should you delete your old YouTube channel?

Let’s start by going through the steps necessary before actually deleting your YouTube account completely from the.


STEP 1.

Remove your YouTube username from any of your videos – this is the first step and we would recommend doing it before you quit YouTube for good. Even if you don’t have any more active YouTube channels, there’s still a chance that someone may find your old user name in one of your video titles or descriptions. If they are wondering whether or not to subscribe to this channel when looking at its content, seeing an old username can be confusing (especially if they don’t know who you are – because if they did, why wouldn’t they see the same username on other social media sites?). So it is always a good idea to remove your old YouTube login details from all of your past videos. To do so, go through each of your old videos and remove any obvious references to your YouTube account.

STEP 2.

Go to deleted video manager and do not forget to remove all of your past videos – you will need an active Google+ or Gmail account associated with your account in order to be able to access this area. Having said that, once you are on the page, you only have two choices: delete one of your old videos, or delete them all. If you go with the first option then just select a single video (or some of them) and press “delete”, after which it will ask for confirmation before actually removing it from the system. However, if you choose “Delete my entire channel” as seen below on the right-hand side, then proceed to click on the “OK” button at the bottom of the page. If you do that, then all of your uploaded videos will be deleted permanently.

STEP 3.

Delete old account – now it is time to delete your YouTube channel for good! Go to the manage accounts link and log in with your Google login details (make sure that you are doing this using an active Gmail account). When you get there, go through the steps required to remove your YouTube account from the system completely: press “delete” in step 1; click on “Delete my account” in step 2; read and agree with terms in step 3; and confirm that you want to delete your channel once more by clicking on “OK” (see example above).

Note: We are fully aware of the fact that YouTube allows you to delete your account at any time. However, we thought it would be a good idea for our readers to know how they can properly remove the content associated with their old channel, rather than just deleting it and hoping for the best.

As YouTube says themselves on their website: “we will keep your account’s public profile information, view and share data, contacts and followers”, so there is still a risk that someone may find your old channel if you do not remove all of the associated content completely. And since old videos can stay online for months even when they are not being used by anyone anymore, this is something you should definitely consider in advance!

In addition to that, any links to your old YouTube channel that you have shared in the past will remain active at least for a few months. So if you created a custom URL for your own channel in the past and promoted it, then it is still possible for people who are interested in finding out more about what you do online, or even joining one of your webinars, to easily find this address online. They may just get confused if they ignore seeing your new social media accounts but see an old YouTube link!

Note: We recommend removing all traces of an old YouTube account from as many places as possible before completely deleting it. One example where this might be useful includes references to it on forums, where someone might accidentally find something related to it without knowing who you are (because if they did, why wouldn’t they see the same username on other social media sites?). So it is always a good idea to remove your old YouTube login details from online communities as well.

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS WITH US! If you have followed all of these steps and still aren’t sure whether or not you should create a new channel or keep the one that you already have, which option would you prefer? Do not forget to share this article with everyone if you found it helpful. We

greatly appreciate any support!

Additional reading: if you would like to learn more about building online businesses, then we strongly recommend checking out our step-by-step guides (published here on the site) which show how we are doing exactly that on various platforms. Start with this post about creating a free website using WordPress, and go from there! You can try it too – it is not as hard as you might think at first; there are tons of resources available for beginners now. If you want to get started right away, simply sign up for your free Bluehost account (which comes with one year of hosting included!) to set up your new WordPress page in less than 5 minutes. And when you do so, remember to use the coupon code BLOGSPOT15 for a discount on your purchase ($3.95/mo instead of $7.99)!

If you found this article helpful, please share it with anyone else who could also benefit from reading it! So don’t hesitate – just hit one of the buttons below and help more people figure out how to manage their social media accounts without losing relevant content or followers:

Thank you so much for reading this guide! And feel free to come back here anytime if you need any additional advice in the future. We will be here! Good luck growing your online endeavors, we are rooting for you all the way! Enjoy creating entertainment that inspires everyone to smile :). See ya next time ;-).

PS: If you want to make sure that we can reply to your comments and questions above, please be sure to include a link to your website in the comment form. This way we can know more about you (what’s your name, who are you and what is your area of interest? OK! – so now it should work.

How do you delete your old YouTube channel?

1. Sign in to YouTube Studio.
2. Select Settings.
3. Select Channel Advanced Settings.
4. Select Remove YouTube Content.
5. Select “I want to permanently delete my content“.
6. Select the boxes to confirm.
7. Select Delete my content.

Will making a new YouTube channel delete my old one?

While there is no rule against deleting a channel, you might consider retaining it if you have subscribers from your old channel. You will find it much more difficult to gain followers in a new channel.

Does YouTube delete inactive accounts?

Accounts are typically reclaimed if they go six months without logging into the site. This is considered a clear sign of inactivity and can render your account inactive.

Scroll to Top