Home » What happens if I delete my Google account?

What happens if I delete my Google account?

Answer

You’ll lose access to any site that needs a Google account login, such as Gmail, Google Docs, Google Drive, and Google Photos, as well as any content you’ve purchased through Play or YouTube and your saved bookmarks in Chrome.

How to Delete Google Account Permanently

What happens when you delete Google+ account

The best way to find out is to try it. If you have a Gmail address, YouTube account or any other Google services, then they will be gone for good.

But that’s not all! You’ll also lose access to your Drive app and anything else tied up in the world of Google. If you don’t want this to happen, there are two options. One is not using any more of their services- which might be tough with so many products available through them- and the other option is ensuring that when you delete your account, you can still use some of their products but without an active email address. Here’s how you can do that:

Option 1: Use Google products with the same email address

Before you delete, go to your YouTube account and select “takeout” where you can download all your data. After this is done, log-in using this link to access your Drive app. This will be active for around two months after which you won’t be able to log in anymore. Also, if any other apps need an active email address, then you should either use another secondary email or set up a new Gmail account before deleting yours.

This means that not only are your emails safe but so are other Google services linked to it such as Drive, Photos etc. If something does happen, you can just create a new Google account and transfer all your data.

Option 2: Deactivate your Gmail but using another email address

If you want to continue using YouTube and other services that require an active email, then the best option is to change the password of your old account and make it inactive. To do this, log-in from a different device or browser and select “sign-in” as normal. After this, click on www.accounts.google.com where you can either remove your payment information or temporarily deactivate Gmail altogether. Just remember that if you do this, then any other apps linked to your email will lose access too so choose wisely!

Both these options seem similar but there are important differences, especially if you want to use any other Google products. If you’re looking for an email address as well as some extra security on your data, then the second option is better but if all you need is a new email then go with the first one.

Does deleting a Google account delete everything?

Any data linked with your Google account will be lost when you cancel it. … All of your data, including passwords and other information, will be kept on Google’s servers.

What happens when you permanently delete your Google account?

A Gmail account may be deleted only after you’ve completed the process. All of your emails and account settings will be erased following the procedure. You will no longer be able to send or receive emails using your Gmail address, and it will not be made available for anybody else to use in the future.

Can I delete my Google account and recreate it?

Your Gmail address and Google account are essentially the same thing. A new email address would be a completely new and distinct account. Yes, you may establish the new account and attempt to transfer your data from the old account, but only certain things in a Google account can be transferred.

Will deleting my Google account delete my Gmail?

You can no longer send or receive email with your Gmail address. If you decide you don’t want to use Gmail any more, you might be able to retrieve it. In the future, no one else will be able to utilize your Gmail address. Only your Gmail account will be terminated; not your Google Account.

Why you should delete your Google account?

Another incentive is that deleting your data aids in content (and ad) curation. People change their minds, our tastes develop over time, and periodically wiping out your old video history is like refreshing your YouTube, Google Play, or even Google Podcast recommendations based on current interests.

Does deleting Google account Delete Google photos?

Hi David, When you remove your Google account, all of the photos in it are destroyed. If you’ve uploaded them to a shared folder, be sure to save them to your new library before deleting your old one.

Can I cancel my Google account?

You can get rid of your Google account by going to Google’s “delete or service your account” page. Download and export your data from Google’s various services and applications before you delete your Google account.

Is my Google account deleted?

Check your email account to see whether it has been deleted by visiting the Gmail homepage. Attempt to sign in using the email address and password of the account on the main page. If you receive a notification stating that “the username or password you entered is incorrect,” this is an indication that your Gmail account has been disabled.

Can I use a deleted Gmail account?

If you’ve had your account for a long time but can’t recover the data in it, it’s possible that you won’t be able to. If you sign back into Gmail, Google Play, and other Google services after deleting your account, you’ll be asked to answer some questions. You’ll be asked whether this is your account several times until you respond correctly.

What happens if I remove Google account from phone?

Removing a Google account from an Android or iPhone device merely removes access to that specific device, and it may be restored at a later date. Any information kept on the device as a result of the account will be lost, including email, contacts, and settings.

What happens if I don’t have a Google Account?

What you’ll need to establish a Google Account. You may create a Google account using your existing email address if you don’t already have one. If you don’t have an email address, go to https://accounts.google.com/SignUp and select Create An Account from the drop-down menu.

Scroll to Top