Home » What happens when you delete your Tumblr account?
What happens when you delete your Tumblr account?

What happens when you delete your Tumblr account?

Answer

Deleting your Tumblr account will delete you from any group blogs that you have joined and also lose any Tumblr credits remaining in your account. Removing the blog will delete any premium Tumblr blog themes that you paid for unless you first transfer them to another blog.

How To Delete Your Tumblr Account

When you delete your Tumblr account, your username and blog contents will be permanently removed from the site in 60 days. After this period, they’ll go into a state known as “archived,” which means that no one will see them unless you choose to make them public again during the next 24 hours or someone takes a screenshot beforehand. If you die with an active Tumblr account (or if someone inherits it), everything on it is transferred within 30 days to another person on our list of heirs, who can then access their content through their new username. Once an heir’s successor has provided proof of death or succession, we either transfer ownership of the blog to them or remove it entirely, depending on what the original creator would have wanted.

How to Delete Your Tumblr Account Permanently 2020

How do I find out who’s on my blog? (Note: We don’t currently support token authorization for third-party applications.)

Your owner information page is by default set to the “Posts” view; if you’d like to change this, go into your Account Settings and switch it from there. On this page, in addition to seeing how many posts and followers you have, you’ll be able to see a list of everyone who has access to the blog as well as some basic information about each one (such as their email address, username, bio, birthday information and an indication of whether they’ve chosen to keep their contact info private or not). If you choose to edit your blog’s name, which is what other people will see when accessing it on Tumblr itself, you can do so from this page as well.

What happens when you delete your Tumblr account?

Deleting your Tumblr account will delete you from any group blogs that you have joined and also lose any Tumblr credits remaining in your account. Removing the blog will delete any premium Tumblr blog themes that you paid for unless you first transfer them to another blog.

Does deleting your Tumblr delete messages?

Takeaways: How to Delete Your Tumblr Account? Once you confirm the deletion request, everything on your account will be permanently deleted from the site. The exception is any content on your group blogs; these will remain active.

Do all your Tumblr posts disappear when you delete your account?

It is possible for your content to remain on the site even after you delete your account. Tumblr users who have reblogged your post must manually delete it or else it will stay up, which may create confusion when people search for you by name.

What about all the photos and stuff?

Any posts, reblogs, tags, likes, text or other content that you created on your blog will be deleted. Media files (photos and videos) that were uploaded to your blog will also be removed from Tumblr’s servers within 60 days of your account being deleted. You can download the media files before this happens through our Download Your Data tool. Photos and videos stored in a third-party service like Dropbox that have been posted to your blog will also be removed by us once we receive confirmation from the service itself that they have been deleted; unless there are technical reasons preventing us for doing so, as is sometimes the case with sites on which you’ve reserved a custom domain name where the domain name and the hosted files live in different accounts.

How do I delete my Tumblr account?

You can delete your account from the Account Settings page, by tapping “close” at the bottom of the screen. You will then be prompted to provide a reason for closing your account and have an opportunity to download your data before proceeding. After confirming, you will no longer be able to sign in to Tumblr with that username or recover it if you change your mind. To learn more about how our deletion process works, please see our help center article on Content Deletion. Can I use someone else’s blog as my own? Can someone else use my blog as theirs? What’s a “remnant blog”? (Note: We do not accept banner ads or any other monetization of Tumblr blogs in exchange for providing written content.)
No. (This answer is fairly straightforward, but it’s the most common reason we remove accounts from our platform these days.) A remnant blog is a blog that retains its original creator’s name and remains up on the site after they’ve deleted their account; this often happens when someone hasn’t deleted all of their posts before closing their account. Read more here about how remnant blogs work and why they’re problematic.

What can I do with my blog if I want to shut it down?

If you’d like to move your blog elsewhere (for example, you want to transfer your website contents somewhere else or archive old posts at another location), it’s possible to do this by exporting your blog contents through our Download Your Data tool. This tool is available from your Account Settings page, and you’ll need to enter an email address where we can send the download link before using it. Once you’ve done so, we’ll email a link that will give you access to download all of the data associated with your blog in one zip file or folder; if there are multiple people with access to your account (for example, as part of family plans for up to five users), only those who have each provided us with their respective email addresses will be able to download their own data from the account. Unfortunately, downloading your data doesn’t free up space on Tumblr’s servers—it only transfers files off of them to your local computer or another hosting service. If you’d like to delete your account entirely, you can do so by accessing our deletion help center article instead.

Scroll to Top